Other prohibited places are courthouses and airport terminals. Churches are generally prohibited, but only during religious services without good and sufficient reason. If you’re in a school parking lot, traffic circles, or driveway you are allowed as well, but only if you stay in your car.
You can also not use illegal drugs or drink alcohol while carrying (class 1 misdemeanor an up), makes perfect sense. The law even states specifically, if you enter a club or restaurant that allows for on-premise consumption with your firearm, you are not allowed to drink (class 2 misdemeanor)
Carrying in Other States
The State of Virginia has reciprocity agreements in place with a good amount of other states. This means you can travel out of state and still be covered with your Virginia concealed carry permit. Unfortunately for Northern Virginia, neither Maryland nor DC recognizes the Virginia permit. So be careful you don’t get lost and accidentally cross state lines.
Virginia does not seem to have an official list, but here is a good map from USCCA.
Conceal Carry Resources for Northern Virginia
Conceal Carry Permits are issued by the circuit court of the county or city in which you reside, you must be 21 and permit is good for 5 years
Proof of handgun competency
Certification of completion of a hunter safety course
Certification of completion of an NRA safety or training course
Certification of completion of a safety or training course offered by local law enforcement agencies or a private institute certified by the NRA or the Department of Criminal Justice Services
Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training offered for security guards, investigators, or special deputies
Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition, or current military service
Proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services. Your DD-214 must indicate the character of service as an honorable discharge.
Firearms training which the court deems appropriate
Obtaining a license to carry a firearm in the Commonwealth of Virginia, unless such license has been revoked
Completing any firearms training or safety course or class, including an electronic, video, or on-line course, conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor – On January 1, 2021
, this requirement will no longer allow “electronic, video, or on-line course”, based on HB264/SB263 which made changes to §§18.2-308.02 and 18.2-308.06 – Read more about this law in 10 New Virginia Gun Laws You Need to Know About
Price Should not exceed $50
For some less entertaining reading, here is some helpful link:
Virginia State Police
Code of Virginia – Concealed Weapons and Concealed Handgun Permits.
Code of Virginia – Dangerous Use of Firearms or Other Weapons
This post is for informational purposes, not legal advice, please consult a lawyer.
Do you have your conceal carry permit in Virginia? Have you had any problems related to it?